

1901 Chestnut Avenue Glenview, Illinois 60025-1604 1-800-851-2201 wespath.org

# **Calkins and Lee Awards**

The Board Life & Policy Governance committee nominates recipients for the Charles L. Calkins and Clay F. Lee Awards. The Board of Directors awards and recognizes the selected distinguished individuals at a celebratory dinner during the quadrennium.

### **Charles L. Calkins Award**

Established in 1988, the Charles L. Calkins Award recognizes an annual conference pension and health benefits administrator who, in partnership with Wespath Benefits and Investments, has provided exceptional service in the administration of pension and health benefits within The United Methodist Church. The award seeks to recognize those who have distinguished themselves in the administration of benefits by their:

- Extraordinary effort and unusual and resourceful leadership,
- Overall helpfulness to pension and health benefit concerns and sharing of ideas and counsel with Wespath Benefits and Investments,
- Responsiveness to Wespath in pension and health benefit matters and cooperation and assistance in the overall presentation of the programs of the Church, and
- Advocacy of pension and health benefit programs of the Church.

The Charles L. Calkins Award is named for Charles L. Calkins who served Wespath as Associate Secretary from 1938 to 1952 and as Executive/General Secretary from 1952 to 1964.

1989	The Reverend Virgil H. Ware West Virginia Conference		1990	The Reverend C. Edward Ditterline New Mexico Conference
1991	<b>E. Ward Emery</b> Northern New Jersey Conference		<b>1992</b>	The Reverend M. Ellsworth Walker Iowa Conference
1993	The Reverend R. Terry Little, Jr. Tennessee Conference		1994	The Reverend Harry E. Shaner California-Nevada Conference
1995	The Reverend Russell E. Owen Oklahoma Conference		1996	<b>Donald A. Foster</b> South Carolina Conference
1997	The Reverend Gerald H.Maddox Alabama-West Florida Conference		1998	The Reverend Richard Hamilton New England Conference
1999	The Reverend Howard Bailey Nebraska Conference		2002	Karen J. Crutchfield New Mexico Conference

## Previous Recipients of the Charles L. Calkins Award:

2003	<b>The Reverend David Dodge</b> Florida Conference	2005	The Reverend Richard VanGiesen Illinois Great Rivers Conference
2007	The Reverend Delos Corderman South Carolina Conference	2009	Patricia Hutchinson Virginia Conference
2011	<b>Bruce Galvin</b> Pacific Northwest Conference Alaska United Methodist Conference	2013	The Reverend Stan Sutton West Ohio Conference
2015	David L. Anderson South Carolina Conference	2017	James M. Berner West Virginia Conference
2019	Karen Fullerton North Georgia Conference	2022	

### Clay F. Lee Award

Established in 1999, the Clay F. Lee Award recognizes former directors of Wespath Benefits and Investments who have given exemplary service in caring for the pension and health benefit needs of The United Methodist Church. The award seeks to recognize those former directors who have distinguished themselves by their:

- Extraordinary contributions to and visionary leadership of Wespath Benefits and Investments,
- Strong advocacy of the pension and health benefit programs of the Church, and
- Dedication to the values of Wespath Benefits and Investments.

The Clay F. Lee Award is named for Bishop Clay F. Lee who served Wespath Benefits and Investments as a member from 1980 to 1988 and as president from 1992 to 1996.

### Previous Recipients of the Clay F. Lee Award:

1999	Bishop Clay F. Lee	2000	Robert W. Stevens
2001	John W. English	2002	M. Harry Piper
2003	The Reverend Kermit L. Braswell	2005	Bishop Bruce P. Blake
2007	Joel Huffman	2009	Carl Nord
2011	Bishop Ben Chamness	2013	The Reverend Keith Ewing
2015	Joseph Heyward	2017	Jerry Pinkerton
2019	The Reverend Dr. Karl Stegall	2022	